A Journey Through Technology

Week 6 Reflection

on June 26, 2017

This week we looked at how we would stock and fund our makerspace. I’ve really been struggling with the idea of a makerspace in my classroom because I want it to be connected to chemistry so my students can utilize it in class, and a lot of makerspaces seem to be better suited for physics or other classes. I think I could stock and create a makerspace that could be used in chemistry, but could also evolve into an all-around makerspace. I am definitely feeling more open to creating and using a makerspace in my class after this week’s question and blog posts.

This week I contributed to the learning of others through my blog post, which Brian commented on. He thought it was interesting that I was trying to create a chemistry makerspace, which I don’t think is actually that much different than a regular, except lab activities could utilize a different version of a makerspace for student-designed labs, another form of creating. I also commented on Brian’s and Jule’s blogs this week.

Brian gave a breakdown of how the money should be spent by category with 40% of the budget being devoted to the major tools. I like this breakdown and will definitely keep it in mind as I work on my makespace plans. Jule’s starting budget of $500 is the same as mine, so I really feel confident that would be enough money to get started. I really liked Jule’s last though in her post, “All that really matters is that students are tinkering and playing in order to develop and create their own projects.” I really need to remember this as I plan my makespace because I really need to make sure that the students are the main focus of this makerspace and that they will be able to create and learn.

My learning was impacted through the readings and resources this week, as well as by reading Brian’s and Jule’s blogs. I am definitely more confident that I can design and implement a makerspace that I could use in my classroom, and that students might actually enjoy creating something tangible in class.

Leave a Reply

