A Journey Through Technology

Week 5 Reflection

on June 19, 2017

This week we compared teaching and learning and looked at the relationship between the two. I found that they are related, and that they should be. Good teaching should lead to learning. That being said, learning can occur without being directly taught (think lecture or teacher-directed lessons), but teaching should be present for all learners.

I impacted the learning of others through my blog post and resources this week. This week, Douglas, Mariah, and Jule read and commented on my blog post. My learning was impacted by reading the resources this week, as well as reading and commenting on Douglas’s and Mariah’s blogs. Mariah said something that I agree with completely: “Both teaching and learning benefits the learner and the learner should be the focus, not the teacher.” I think as teachers sometimes it can be easy to get caught up in everything we do, and its important to remember that the learner should always be our focus. Douglas also said something that really stood out to me:  “we are doing what we have always done.” I think there are so many teachers that still have this mantra, and that is part of the struggle in trying to make education better. Student-centered learning hasn’t always been a focus, so trying to shift in the direction of what is best for students can be hard when there are those who like to dig in their heels because they don’t want to move out of their comfort zone.

This week really got me thinking about what I’m doing to make sure that the teaching I do connects to the learning of my students. I get the feeling that this will be a constant focus for me throughout my teaching career, and that actually excites me. I love that there is always going to be an opportunity for me to change what I’m doing to be better for my students.

Leave a Reply

