A Journey Through Technology

Week 13 Reflection

on April 24, 2017

This week was my week of planning about my philosophy of adaptation. I revisited my posts from throughout the semester, and realized how much we talked about this semester. This made my philosophy a bit harder to organize because there are so many things I want to include, but now I need to figure out the best way to include them. I am very encouraged this week, however, because I know that once I get my philosophy finished, I will have a better idea of what I want to focus on for this next school year. Planning for the next year is one of my favorite things about the end of the year, because it gives me a chance to reflect on the previous year and decide what changes should be made for next year. After this past year of graduate classes, now I have even more to reflect on and consider incorporating into next years classes.

This week, my main way impacting the learning of others was through the Twitter chat. My blog post this week was mainly a first attempt at organizing my thoughts for my philosophy, so I don’t know how much of an impact I really had. Gerald and Natalie both commented on my post, and those will help me as I write my final philosophy this next week.

I read and commented on Sara’s and Gerald’s posts this week. Sara’s post was her entire philosophy of adaptation, which I enjoyed reading. She is also a science teacher, so I tend to find commonalities with her, and this week was no different. One thing that I really liked about her philosophy was that she talked about the disconnect that students have between subjects. They don’t consider that subjects can overlap, so when there is math in science, they tend to say something. I find this happens often in chemistry. On the first day of school, I tell students that chemistry is at least 50% math, and there are always groans when they hear that. Sara’s post talked about how there should be a push to incorporate more classes together using PBL and included some information about a high school called High Tech High. This sounds very interesting to me and I am going to look into this more. It seems like a very different type of school, and maybe that is just what education needs in terms of changing for the better.

Gerald was a bit like me this week. He hadn’t started writing his philosophy, but he was working on organizing his thoughts and ideas in his post. He shared part of his vision statement, which is “Murphy’s Law”. This is so fitting for me because of my recent experience in trying to change my classroom and go paperless for a day. Of course, the Wi-Fi at my school did not want to play nice that day, so the day did not go according to plan. I will never forget that day of craziness, and I think I will always be prepared for “Murphy’s Law” to rear it’s ugly head at the most inopportune time.

I look forward to putting my philosophy together this week, and also getting a chance to read everyone else’s. This semester has flown by so fast, and now comes the fun part of bringing everything I’ve learned the past 13 weeks and organizing it into my philosophy of adaptation.

Leave a Reply

