A Journey Through Technology

Week 5 Reflection

on February 20, 2017

This week was about “learning in the collective”. I found my research this week to be very intriguing because it showed me that a lot of the learning I’ve done in the courses for my degree have been collective learning. I like the idea of collective learning, though I don’t know if I can completely wrap my mind around all of the aspects of it. The use of blogs as collective learning is something I think I could use in my classes, especially my IB Chemistry class, and I am going to play around with that a bit over the summer.

My learning was impacted by the Twitter session, researching for my blog post, the comments made on my blog, and by reading the blogs of Matthew and Larissa. Gerald, Natalie, and Tristan commented on my blog this week. I feel like those comments led me to a deeper thinking about collective learning on a global scale. Why isn’t there more collective learning going on to solve more world problems? Is it happening and I just don’t know (completely possible and probably likely)? Could it be happening on a larger scale? I feel like the comments this week have given me more questions to think about as we continue moving forward.

In Matthew’s blog, he had a great quote, “it is my responsibility to direct the students towards the learning that is required, but this experience can be enriched by allowing for collective learning to be part of the process.” My comment was about wondering if it would be possible to combine collective learning with required learning so you wouldn’t have to differentiate between the two. I don’t know if all learning in high school could be achieved through collective learning, but I’m sure that it would be possible for significantly more learning to be done through a collective.

In Larissa’s blog, she talked about how “Working in a collective is seamless because those involving themselves in a collective typically want to be.” I think this is crucial for collective learning, because students that want to learn about something are going to be a lot more involved than students that are forced to learn about something. I see examples of this when I compare my forensics and chemistry classes. While both classes are considered electives, chemistry is something that a lot of my students need to graduate. Forensics may satisfy graduation requirements for some students, but most of them are taking it for fun. I think it would be interesting to try using collective learning in both of these classes to see how effective it would be in each one.

I impacted the learning of others through Twitter, sharing my resources for my blog, and in the writing of my blog. I also wrote comments on Matthew and Larissa’s blogs.

This week gave me so much to think about as I continue to explore collective learning.

Mentor Project Journal: This was the first week that I was supposed to start meeting with my mentee for the project. We did not end up meeting this week, but I anticipate spending quite a bit of time together next week to get started on our goals.

Leave a Reply

