A Journey Through Technology

Week 10 Reflection

on November 14, 2016

This week we compared the final project rubric with current resources on gamification and our own gamification plans to see how effective the rubric would be. I enjoyed reading through the rubric and comparing it with my own plan, because it helped me to see the weaknesses I have at this point and some things on which I need to spend some more time focusing. I also liked getting to connect the rubric to the readings and research we have done this semester because it really helps me connect everything together and see that what we are working on can actually work and be very effective. I’m looking forward to writing out my whole plan and filling in my weak areas, not just to meet the rubric, but also to make sure I have a gamification plan that I successfully use in my classroom, hopefully soon!

This week I read Theresa’s blog and Gerald’s blog. Theresa shared some excellent research on how playing games releases chemicals in our brains that help in the learning process, and also how playing online games can positively affect how we see people in other countries. It made me think about how I could add an international connection to may game, which would be awesome because my school is an International Baccalaureate (IB) school, and that fits perfectly into the IB philosophy.

Gerald’s blog was about the lack of need of a story in a game. The example he gave that I really connected with was Minecraft. I have played Minecraft a few times, and very much enjoy the open-ended aspect, but I think the main reason I don’t continue playing is the lack of story and lack of overall objective. It’s fun to be creative and make new things, but don’t find myself continuing on in that game because I tend to get bored doing the same things without a real purpose. I have played quite a few video games, and typically like the ones where the story is entertaining. There are a few that I’ve played where the story can be overly complex, however, so I can see how story could hinder the gaming process. I would say I’m kind of 50/50 with Gerald. There are some games that are very successful without a story, and others that have too much story to be usefuly, but I think games should have some level of storyline to them to keep the player engaged.

This week really gave me things to think about as I start to put everything together for my final project. I will be using the rubric as I write my final gamification plan, and I am looking forward to seeing how it turns out. I cannot wait to start my gamification of my classroom, and I’m hoping I can get organized enough to try a bit out in the spring semester.

Leave a Reply

