A Journey Through Technology

Week 7 Reflection

on October 24, 2016

This week the focus was on the language of learning. Based on the Matera reading and my own research, I found this is very well summarized by Purpose Driven Learning. I think that by using the ten Purpose Driven Learning traits in the classroom regularly, I can help my students shift their focus from just getting a grade, to wanting to actually learn something. I plan on making those ten traits an active part of my classroom as I work on shifting my classroom to a more student-centered environment.

I read Ali’s blog and Heather’s blog this week. Ali shared that it will be difficult for her to transition to having less emphasis on grades in the classroom because of district requirements. I also have this issue, as my district requires to grades to be entered into the electronic gradebook each week. I think that until there is a fundamental change in education across the country, we will continue to encounter this issue.

Heather shared a quote about the way that teachers hand out assignments and how changing that can aid in gamification. If we add more mystery to our assignments and are more explicit when we assignment, we can get students more engaged in our classrooms, and hopefully helping them in how they learn.

I became very excited this week about the possibility of gamifying my classroom. At beginning of the semester, I was very anxious about how I could go about gamifying a chemistry classroom, as there are few examples I have found in my research. I had a bit of a light-bulb moment this weekend, and think I have a pretty solid outline of what my gamified classroom is going to look like. I still have a lot of details to work out, but I feel like I am much more comfortable with the process. This week’s question has helped because I can start using Purpose Driven Learning language in my classes right now, which should help prep my students for our new journey, which I’m hoping we can start at the beginning of second semester. This next week should help me with some of the smaller details, and the weeks after will hopefully help even more.

 

Leave a Reply

