A Journey Through Technology

Week 6 Reflection

on October 17, 2016

This week was about player or gamer types. I started the week by taking a player type quiz in which I scored as the Explorer type. This means I like to explore areas and find new things, which fits very well with the way I play video games in real life. I’ve been doing a lot of searching online this week for ideas of ways I can start gamifying my classroom, and I’m getting very excited to try this out sooner rather than later.

I commented on Sara and Theresa’s blogs this week. Sara discussed the possibility of students having overlap in their player types, or not strictly being one type, which I think is a very real issue that we will have to deal with. This means we will need to try and reach all player types as much as possible when we design our gamification. Theresa explained the four Bartle player types and I found it interesting that the griefer or killer types don’t mind being wrong. This is a trait that I think many students are lacking, and it would be beneficial for the griefers to help other students feel more comfortable with being wrong.

All in all I felt this was a positive week. I am feeling more comfortable with gamification each week, and am looking forward to designing my first gamification unit. I also spent some time playinb with a Google Cardboard this week and am trying to figure out how to use it in at least one of my classes. I’m also getting excited to start working with my group for Aurasma because the more I look into this and play around, the more potential I’m finding for using it in the classroom. 

Leave a Reply

