A Journey Through Technology

Week 10 Reflection

on July 25, 2016

This week we looked at whether or not electronics are a viable crafting tool for students. Personally, I have very little experience with electronics, and that was during my physics classes in college, so it’s been almost 10 years since I’ve done anything with it. That being said, I can see myself being comfortable playing with electronics and eventually using them in my classroom. So, even though I don’t know much about it now, I am very comfortable learning more and trying this tech out!

My learning was impacted by the resources for this week, the Twitter session, and reading through Aleta and Tricia’s blogs. Aleta mentioned a “Circuit Sticker Sketchbook” that she had purchased, and now I think I need to look into one of those. I would love to give this a try and move towards using electronics crafting in my classroom. Tricia said that she though all students could use circuit and LED stickers in their classroom, and I think I agree with her. I would imagine you could use this in any grade level, in any subject area. Tricia really helped me to see that. Twitter this week was great, and I find myself really looking forward to Thursday afternoon every week.

I impacted the learning of others this week during Twitter, as well as through my blog post. Daysha, Tricia, and Laura read and commented on my blog this week. Tricia agreed with me that we need to prepare students for new jobs that don’t exist, and that means preparing them to use electronics. Daysha liked that I said that electronics allow artists to give their art another purpose. Laura liked that I talked about getting students to be creative in school again.

I can’t believe we only have two weeks of class left. I’m looking forward to staring my final project next week, and the crazy thing is I’m going back to work next week to pick up my keys! The new school year is right around the corner, and I hope I can use some of what I’ve learned in this class in my classroom next year.

Leave a Reply

