A Journey Through Technology

Week 10: How are electronics viable additions to “crafting” for today’s young person?

on July 23, 2016

This week our essential question is: How are electronics viable additions to “crafting” for today’s young person? To answer this question, I watched Leah Buechley’s TED talk titled “How to “sketch” with electronics”. I found this video very intriguing and I think that if students are given more creative freedom, they will perform better in the classroom. (Buechley, 2012) Saxena (2013) describes a variety of technologies that can be used to help students tap into their innate creativity. “Hence, all of us from being a child have the potential for great, revolutionary creativity and all we need is to realize this potential.” (Saxena, 2013)

One thing I thought of as I was reading through at looking at resources this week was that electronic crafting allows people to give their art another purpose. Not only is the art pleasing to look at, but it also has other layers that give the art another purpose. A great example of this was a demonstration of chibitronics in a painting that made the painting interactive. (Qi, 2012) I could see this type of interactive art working well in any subject area, probably in the secondary grades, for students to use their creativity to display their understanding of an idea or concept.

Earl Einarson (2013) shares a list of wearable electronics, a few of which I could see being very popular with students. A beat glove is shared that uses “Arduino Lilypad to create sound that corresponds to finger tapping.” I’ve had students that love tapping out beats on their desks in class, so how cool would it be for them to have gloves that let those taps make different sounds.

Another website I came across would be a great resource to do electronics crafting either at home or at school, called “littleBits”. The website, http://littlebits.cc, offers challenges, example projects and designs, and even a store to purchase devices necessary to crafting and creating. I could see myself easily spending hundreds of dollars on components here, but they offer pretty much anything you might need to start electronics crafting. This site is designed for anyone to purchase from, so it’s not just for educators.

If we can make a move towards getting students more focused on being creative and using their imaginations, I could see electronics crafting being a very crucial part of the process. We are currently preparing students for jobs that do not yet exist, many of which are bound to involve electronics and technology, so it makes sense to teach students how to build things involving electronics.

References:

Buechley, L. (2012, November 15). Leah Buechley: How to “sketch” with electronics. Retrieved July 18, 2016, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vTBp0Z5GPeI

DIY Electronics Projects Prototypes Made With littleBits. (n.d.). Retrieved July 22, 2016, from http://littlebits.cc

Einarson, E. (2013, January 2). Go Bionic With These Wearable Arduino Projects. Retrieved July 18, 2016, from http://www.wired.com/2013/01/wearable-arduinos/

Qi, J. (2012, April 23). Interactive Light Painting: Pu Gong Ying Tu (Dandelion Painting). Retrieved July 18, 2016, from https://vimeo.com/40904471

Saxena, S. (2013, November 14). How Can Technology Enhance Student Creativity? Retrieved July 18, 2016, from http://edtechreview.in/trends-insights/insights/750-how-can-technology-enhance-student-creativity

3 responses to “Week 10: How are electronics viable additions to “crafting” for today’s young person?

  1. daysha2016 says:

    I like how you stated that electronic crafting allows people to give their art another purpose. I was amazed when I saw the interactive art piece. I know that students of all ages would love to create something like that! I also appreciate the little Bits resource!

    Like

  2. “We are currently preparing students for jobs that do not yet exist, many of which are bound to involve electronics and technology, so it makes sense to teach students how to build things involving electronics.” I think that my biggest realization through this project this week was connected to this comment that you made. It’s the biggest reason that I would be interested in pursuing the use of chibitronics or any electronics with my youngsters. Since I don’t even know what I’m preparing them for, I really need to expose them to as many different things, especially connected with technology, that I can. Thanks for the insight!

    Like

  3. I love your mention of getting our students to “be creative and use their imagination.” I am glad to be in the times where I can be a part of this “switch” in education. It was often not allowed to be inventive in a classroom setting. You needed to get the reading, writing and arithmetic done so you could be successful in the future, which is true but today there is just so much more happening. A ton more things happening that it is crazy sometimes the amount of “new” or “improved” items out on the shelves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

