A Journey Through Technology

Week 8 Reflection

on July 11, 2016

Again I will admit this was not a very good week for me. I am definitely comfortable with Minecraft on a personal level, but the ideal of using Minecraft in my classroom is very daunting to me. I did find a good resource for chemistry in Minecraft using Molcraft, but I need to explore this option a lot more in depth until I will feel comfortable using it in my class. Another reason this week was tough was because I was still on vacation, so was not able to make the Twitter session. I am happy to finally be home, and ready to join in on Twitter again this next week, but I’m bummed that I missed out on the collaboration and sharing we have during Twitter. I will be reading through the Storify for this past week, but it just isn’t the same as being there live.

I impacted the learning of others this week through my blog post. Gerald and Tricia posted on my blog this week. I am looking forward to Twitter this coming week so I can hopefully have more of an impact on the learning of my classmates.

My learning was mostly impacted by reading the resources for this week, as well as reading through my classmate’s blogs. I read through and commented on Sara L and Camille’s blogs this week. Sara said something that really hit home for me, “I think this is the hard part for educators, is that until you see it used it is hard to imagine what you could use it for.” This is the toughest thing for me right now. I almost want to let students loose with Minecraft to see how they could use it for chemistry. Maybe they could come up with some awesome ideas that I might not ever think of.

Camille and I share some of the same feelings about using Minecraft in the classroom. Her post was really good because it worked through a progression of skepticism to thinking up a lesson that could use Minecraft in her classroom. It was nice to read through and see that I’m not the only one who is unsure of using Minecraft, and gives me reassurance that I can become even more comfortable with the idea of using Minecraft in my classroom.

This week made me see that I really need to work on stepping out of my comfort zone, and quite trying to be in control so much. After reading through my classmates blogs, I really see that my need for control in class is part of the reason I’m so hesitant to try Minecraft. I need to just let my students spend time exploring to see what they can come up with, with limited rules from me. I could really see myself trying this out this next school year, and I hope I can work up the courage to do it.

I am looking forward to next week and getting back into Twitter with the rest of the class. Each week of this class has helped me get more excited about integrating more technology into my classroom next year, and I can’t wait to see what comes next!

Leave a Reply

