A Journey Through Technology

Week 12 Reflection

on April 18, 2016

This week was actually quite amazing for me. I am so looking forward to doing this for all of my units because I was so prepared last week it was less stressful for me than a normal school week. Things took a little longer than I had planned, so hopefully I will be giving the post-test and performance assessment on the Wednesday/Thursday block this coming week. This unit has really got me thinking about essential questions for all of my units and how I can better connect things to the real world.

I contributed to the learning of others this week mainly through the twitter session this week. Twitter was kind of a bust after question 5 or so because of twitter going down, but I was able to get the remainder of my responses posted later in the week. My main source of learning from others this week was also twitter, with Aleta and Kate also commenting on my blog this week.

During twitter, Sally mentioned that she didn’t think she had enough differentiation in her unit at first, but later realized she had more differentiation than she thought. This made me think a lot more about the different activities that we did in the unit and how each contributes to a differentiated classroom. I am now very confident that I have plenty of differentiation in my unit, and I hope that my reflection can accurately portray the level of differentiation I think I achieved.

Aleta mentioned that the different levels of worksheets I provided are a good way of differentiating, but I definitely need to work on those for the future. For the first worksheet, the differences were only in the level of support provided, or scaffolding I offered the students. The worksheet they are getting tomorrow, though, actually has different levels of questions for my higher students, so it will be interesting to see how that goes.

This next week I should be completely finished with my unit and I look forward to analyzing a couple of my students’ work for my reflection. I can’t believe we are in the last week of the class already, but I definitely plan on continuing with the concepts we covered in this class as I start to plan for next school year.

Leave a Reply

