A Journey Through Technology

Week 8 Reflection

on March 14, 2016

This week, as with many of the others, I feel like my main contribution to the learning of others was through the twitter session. I also think that is the main way that others’ contributed to my learning as well. I feel like I learn so much during each twitter session and love reading everyone’s responses to each question. The questions also were very helpful this week in getting me to pull important pieces from each of the readings.

I read through Sara L, Teresa, and Sally’s blogs this week and learned something from each of them. Sara shared a wonderful infographic comparing fixed-mindset to growth-mindset, which I plan on sharing with my students. Teresa shared seven principles about how we learn, and I plan on referring back to those often to make sure I’m thinking about the how of learning as much as I think about the what aspect. Sally had a bit about not sharing too much information in class periods, which I need to be more mindful about. I tend to give way too much information in one class period, and I know I have overwhelmed my students in the past. I want to try and avoid that in the future as much as possible.

All in all this was a good week. I’ve started working on my UBD unit and should have that mostly finished by the end of the week. I know it isn’t going to be entirely PBL, but I think I’m going to make one of the labs my students will complete a PBL-activity, so hopefully it will get them more engaged. I’m so happy it is spring break, but I can’t believe we are over half-done with this class. It always seems to go by so fast towards the end of the semester!

Leave a Reply

