A Journey Through Technology

Week 6 Reflection

on February 29, 2016

This week was very exciting for me because I was introduced to some new technologies that could really help me out in the classroom. In terms of others contributing to my learning, Sara introduced us to Classcraft as a way to gamify the classroom and also help with issues like classroom behavior, late work, and tardiness. I am very excited about trying Classcraft out in my classroom, hopefully starting this next week, at least with my freshmen, and hope that it allows me to bring gamification to a subject that has limited options at the moment. The twitter session also contributed to my learning because I was able to see how others have tried gamification in their classrooms, and what some of the other options are that exist.

I contributed to the learning of others through my blog, where I shared about a new program that is currently being designed called ChemCaper, a role-playing game for students to learn about chemistry. It was recently funded through KickStarter, so I don’t know how long it will take to be completed, but I am excited to track the progress. I also shared about reading levels for boys without games versus with them, and Sara L found that useful. Natalie agreed with me that there aren’t many games, like Minecraft, that are useful in all subjects. I hope this is something that changes in the new future because I think using gamifying chemistry would be a great way to get students more engaged and loving science.

UBD Differentiation Unit

The unit of study I will be differentiating will be the Chemistry unit on Gases. I think what I’m going to try to do is have three different levels of activities that I can use and will group students based on scores from a pre-test I will use at the beginning of the unit. I am going to try and do as many lab activities as possible for students to learn about the relationships between temperature, volume, and pressure of a gas, and allow students choice in how they are assessed. My goal for the final assessment of the unit is to have students go through a set of lab stations and describe each using their knowledge of the gas laws. I still have a lot of details to work out, but spring break is in two weeks, so I should be able to have it all planned by the time we get back on the 21st of March, which is when I hope to start the gases unit.

Leave a Reply

