A Journey Through Technology

Week 8 Reflection

on October 26, 2015

For the blog this week, I had a hard time finding a lot of information about data mining that wasn’t related to businesses. A lot of the resources for data mining involve mining very large amounts of data, so I had trouble connecting that with the qualitative data analysis. I think I did a pretty good job of figuring things out, though, and I hope my post was helpful to the rest of the class. Peter commented on my post and said one of my quotes helped him understand the assignment for the week, and I’m glad I could contribute.

Reading through my classmates blogs has helped me realize a few things I should be thinking about with my research, like the difference between my definition of engagement and my students’ definitions. I never even thought to have a discussion about what engagement actually is, but this week’s blogs and comments made me realize that is probably a good idea. We all seem to be having trouble balancing observations with our teaching as well, but aside from having an outside person come in to observe for us, I don’t know that there is a lot we can do to fix that right now. I am trying to narrow my observation down to look only for specific things, but I don’t know how that will change until I try using my new tally sheet next week.

I feel that this was a good week for my learning, as well as contributing to my classmates learning. I look forward to seeing what this week brings!

Leave a Reply

