A Journey Through Technology

Week #6 Reflection

on October 12, 2015

This week I think I did well contributing to the blogs of my classmates. I posted on quite a few of the infographics, and shared my thoughts on the most important things to remember for each. I thought Tristan’s focus on making the interviewees comfortable was helpful because that wasn’t one of the main things I would think to focus on.

I agreed with Peter that one of the most important parts of the interview is the data collection. But, that got me thinking about what would happen if the interview couldn’t be recorded. If one of the participants would not agree to being recorded, would I be able to keep up with the interview and still keep track of my data? This is actually one of the reasons I’m probably not going to use interviews as one of my data collection methods. The closer I’m getting to starting data collection, the more things have started falling into place, and interviews don’t really seem to fit into the grand scheme of things for this project.

Theresa shared the S.O.L.E.R. acronym in her infographic, which sounds like a great tool to help remember the steps for being an active listener. It would be very hard to collect decent data during an interview without being an active listener, so I will definitely keep this in mind for any future interviews I may conduct.

Sara’s post was helpful for me because it mentioned things to avoid during interviews. She mentioned the influence that the interviewer can have on the interviewee, and that is definitely something to take into account to prevent a bias in the interview.

This was a good week for me because I feel like I learned a lot from my classmates, and I also feel like I contributed to their learning as well. I am almost ready to start data collection. I had to add my survey questions and focus group questions to my proposal, so once I get the ok I will start with the project. I did a trial run using Poll Everywhere in a few of my classes last week to see how it would go, and it looks like its going to work very well and I should be able to get some other sources of data I hadn’t anticipated. I’m really looking forward to the next few weeks of data collection and I can’t wait to start sorting through information to see if I am actually able to increase student engagement.

Leave a Reply

