A Journey Through Technology

Week 2 Reflection

on September 14, 2015

This week was very educational for me, and it got me thinking a lot more about my role as a teacher. I feel like I am always so focused on teaching content, that sometimes I don’t take the time to find out what my students are actually learning besides giving them a test at the end of each unit. I don’t know why it never occurred to me to talk more often with my students about the material instead of to them, but I feel like that would be a better way of assessing students than just giving them a cumulative test. Students are tested so much these days and I think we might all benefit from other ways of assessing what they are learning in my class. I am very excited to see how my classroom changes as this course progresses.

Through this second week, I feel like I’m getting to know more about my classmates. I am seeing the similarities and differences we have in our classrooms, and the common problems we all seem to have. I hope that the resources I shared in my essential question post will help others, as well as the thoughts I shared with them on their posts.

Right now, I am thinking of researching the impact of using student response devices, or clickers, on student engagement in my class. Right now I feel like I’m having a tough time keeping students tuned in for the whole class period, so I hope that using clickers for the last 5-10 minutes a few days a week will increase their engagement and participation in class.

Leave a Reply

